Known as 'Lord Willoughby's Railway' the line that ran from the village of Edenham, across estate land to its junction with the main London line at Little Bytham, was operational between July 1856 and July 1873. It carried both goods and passengers and would have been at the cutting edge of technology in its time.
The route of the line is still visible on maps and it is possible to walk or cycle along part of the route when the park is open to the public. The fascinating story of this life-sized train set can be found in a book, available to purchase in the gift shop, written by RE Pearson and JG Ruddock.
There is also a scale model of the locomotive and some carriages on display in the Willoughby Memorial Gallery in nearby Corby Glen.